Thursday • October 21
CST 6:11 | EST 7:11 | MST 5:11 | PST 4:11 | GMT 11:11
Other Non-Flash Media Players
Positive, Fast, Training For Your Pet: Just a Click Away
Bookmark and Share
Do you wish there was some easy, non-punishing method to train your pet to do certain things and stop doing others? There is! And it works with most animals, your dog, your cat, your horse or your guinea pig! Karen Pryor, founder of clicker training and the author of her new book Reaching the Animal Mind will be Susan's guest this week. You will learn about this remarkable technique and you can call and ask Karen your questions.
Episode Segments:
 
Clicker Training with Karen Pryor Part One
Susan and animal training guru Karen Pryor explore the exciting world of clicker training, which is a positive, fast and fun way of training dogs, cats and many other animals. Karen explains how clicker training works and why it is so much easier than other methods.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...

 
 
Clicker Training with Karen Pryor Part Two
Susan and Karen talk about positive ways to correct negative dog behavior such as jumping up. She also explains how clicker training is useful for caring for exotic zoo animals.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...

 
 
Clicker Training with Karen Pryor Part Three
Karen and Susan talk about the amazing ability of birds, dolphins and even tuna to learn new behaviors. Karen also outlines the resources available for people interested in learning about clicker training.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...

 
Links to Related Websites:
Look While You Listen!
Visit the Wild About Pets official web site and view the pictures Susan and her guest(s) are discussing.

Order Reaching The Animal Mind At Amazon.com
Karen Pryor's all-positive clicker-training system is a safe, effective way to modify and shape behavior. Reaching the Animal Mind uses clear, accessible language that will allow anyone to master Pryor's training system. Pryor also entertains by introducing some of her more interesting pupils.

Guest(s) Appearing on this Episode
Karen Pryor
Karen Pryor is a scientist with an international reputation in two fields—marine mammal biology and behavioral psychology. Through her work with dolphins in the 1960s she pioneered modern, force-free animal training methods.

Karen is the author of many scientific papers and monographs, as well as seven books. She is a founder and leading proponent of clicker training, the worldwide movement involving new ways to communicate positively with pets and other animals. The founder and CEO of the behavioral publishing company Sunshine Books, Inc., and its online divisions, Karen has three children and seven grandchildren. She lives in Boston with two clicker trained dogs and a clicker trained cat.


Click here to visit Karen's Website