Thursday • October 21
CST 6:00 | EST 7:00 | MST 5:00 | PST 4:00 | GMT 11:00
Other Non-Flash Media Players
How Smart is Your Dog?
Bookmark and Share
A key to selecting the right dog for you or your family and providing a fulfilling and happy life for your dog is understanding the inherent abilities and intelligence of the breeds. During this show, Stanley Coren, the author of The Intelligence of Dogs will tell us about the different types of dog intelligences, how to rank your dog and offer some fun activities to do with your dog to "test" its IQ.
Episode Segments:
 
Wild About Pets: The Secret Language of Dogs

Dr. Coren discusses the way we communicate with dogs, and vice-versa. He talks about way you can increase your dogs understanding vocabulary, and ways they are communicating back with us, that we may not even be aware of for example, the real meaning of a wagging tail.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...

 
 
Wild About Pets: Measuring Intelligence

Dr. Coren explains the tree types of intelligence exhibited by dogs, and gives practical examples of each. He also discusses a fun IQ test you can try with your dogs, and talks about the smartest breeds of dogs.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...

 
 
Wild About Pets: Is Smarter Better?

Dr. Coren discusses the importance of selecting the right breed for your household, and why getting a smarter breed of dog may not necessarily be a smart move on your part! Plus the benefits of living with a non-intelligent breed of dog, and a description of Dr. Corens latest book.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...

 
Links to Related Websites:
Look While You Listen!
Visit the Wild About Pets official web site and view the pictures Susan and her guest(s) are discussing.

Guest(s) Appearing on this Episode
Stanley Coren
Though best known to the public for his series of best-selling books on dogs, Stanley Coren is also well respected scientist and Professor of Psychology at the University of British Columbia. He did his undergraduate work at the University of Pennsylvania and completed his doctorate Psychology at Stanford. In the scientific area he has has published many research related books, a widely used textbook on sensation and perception, and over 300 research reports in professional journals. Coren has won a number of awards for his research, and the quality of his contribution to science has been recognized by a number of major scientific organizations, including the American Psychological Association, the American Psychological Society, the Canadian Psychological Association, the American Association of Applied and Preventative Psychology, and others, which have conferred upon him the title of Fellow. In addition his ability to communicate with people has been recognized by his winning of the Robert E. Knox Master Teacher Award and by his service on the American Psychological Association's, Public Information Committee.

Click here to visit his website