Sunday • October 17
CST 8:34 | EST 9:34 | MST 7:34 | PST 6:34 | GMT 01:34
Other Non-Flash Media Players
Futuristic Science That Is Saving Endangered Animals
Bookmark and Share
Todays' show will feature the work done at the Audubon Center for Research of Endangered Species. At this most interesting and cutting edge scientific facility, they are doing in vitro fertilization and cloning to save endangered wild cats and sand hill cranes among others. No matter what you think of the practices, you'll want to hear about the work this center is doing. This center was featured in the fictional scientific thriller, "Altar of Eden", by best-selling author, James Rollins, who was a recent guest on the show.

Photo courtesy of the Audubon Nature Institute
Episode Segments:
 
Wild About Pets: Dr. Betty Dresser & ACRES
Dr. Dresser discusses the mission of the Audubon Center for Research of Endangered Species (or ACRES). She explains the science behind animal cloning, and talks about their frozen zoo, and how many species it contains.

(photo courtesy of Audubon Nature Institute)
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...

 
 
Wild About Pets: The Science of ACRES
Dr. Dresser talks about how ACRES got started, and how she got involved with this field of science. She then talks about some of the techniques they are pioneering, and some of the projects they are currently working on. Plus, reaction to James Rollins’ novel Altar of Eden.

(photo courtesy of Audubon Nature Institute)
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...

 
 
Wild About Pets: ACRES & The Future of Cloning
Dr. Dresser addresses the fears of cloning & the possibility of using it for sinister purposes. We also learn about some more of their projects with domestic cats, Mexican gray wolves, storks, and gorillas.

(photo courtesy of Audubon Nature Institute)
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...

 
Links to Related Websites:
Look While You Listen!
Click here to view the photos Susan and her guests are discussing.

Guest(s) Appearing on this Episode
Dr. Betty Dresser
Dr. Betsy L. Dresser , a reproductive physiologist who founded the Cincinnati Zoo Center for Reproduction of Endangered Wildlife (CREW), joined Audubon Nature Institute in 1995 to lead the new Audubon Center for Research of Endangered Species. She directed the design and construction of the Research Center and began hiring scientists in early 1996 with expertise in domestic animal reproduction research and development of the latest technologies in this field. Knowledge gained through research at the Center has helped scientists and conservationists cope with threats to the most seriously endangered species through the development of new reproductive technologies and reintroduction techniques necessary to ensure their long term survival.

Audubon Institute