Thursday • October 21
CST 7:30 | EST 8:30 | MST 6:30 | PST 5:30 | GMT 12:30
Other Non-Flash Media Players
How Baby Wild Animals Learn
Bookmark and Share
Major cute photo alert! You'll want to make sure you see the photos that go along with this show. You will hear captivating, funny and intriguing stories from Susan McCarthy, author of Becoming A Tiger: How Baby Animals Learn to Live in the Wild, about how playful baby wild tigers, whales, elephants, big-footed bear cubs and scrawny chicks, all learn about themselves, the world and how to survive.
Episode Segments:
 
Wild About Pets: How to Do or Know Something
Susan McCarthy explains the differences between open & closed programs in animal learning, or what animals know as opposed to what they need to learn. We’ll also find out how some animals learn the basics, like cats land climbing, or birds with flying.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...

 
 
Wild About Pets: Learning the Basics
How do elephants learn to use their trunks? How do monkeys learn to climb trees? Or birds learn to migrate? We’ll explore all of that and more in part two of our conversation with Susan McCarthy.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...

 
 
Wild About Pets: Learning Your Species
In part three, we learn about imprinting, and how some animals adopt other animals as their own. We’ll use eagles, geese, monkey and humans as examples. Plus, how animals learn to hunt.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...

 
Links to Related Websites:
Look While You Listen!
Click here to view the photos Susan and her guest are discussing.

To Order "Becoming A Tiger"
Every animal is born with the instinct to survive but not necessarily the skills to do so. Just as our parents guide us as we learn to find food and communicate, so do tiger, bird, and bonobo moms and dads. McCarthy, coauthor of When Elephants Weep , considers the myriad tactics employed by parents across the animal kingdom to help their young survive and flourish.

Guest(s) Appearing on this Episode
Susan McCarthy
Susan McCarthy is the co-author of WhenElephants Weep: The Emotional Lives of Animals and author of Becoming a Tiger: How Baby Animals Learn to Live in the Wild. A science writer and a humor writer, she especially loves true stories that illuminate animal behavior, and give us hints of what goes on in their hearts and minds.

Click here to read Susan's Blog

 


Sometimes one kind of animal cares for a completely different kind. Here are some examples.

Cat Adopts Baby Squirrels

Anjana the Chimp and Tiger Cub

Leopard Cuddles Baby Baboon