Thursday • October 21
CST 5:59 | EST 6:59 | MST 4:59 | PST 3:59 | GMT 10:59
Other Non-Flash Media Players
500 Places To See Before They Disappear
Bookmark and Share
Join Tonya and Ian as they meet Frommers author, Holly Hughes, to discuss her new book 500 Places To See Before They Disappear . This guidebook leads readers around the globe to visit cultural, historic, and natural treasures at riskfrom red Routemaster buses in England and re-footed boobies in the Cayman Islands to Mount Kilimanjaro in Tanzania and the Pyramids of Giza in Egypt. Then meet fellow traveler, Nigel Allom, who has taken a year off from his life in Australia to travel around North America. Learn what inspired him to travel around the world for the second time; how he went about planning his trip; and what you should consider before taking an extended travel leave.
Episode Segments:
 
Author Holly Hughes
Holly Hughes, author of 500 Places To See Before They Disappear discusses her reasons for writing the book, how she selected the sites, and reveals some of the more surprising places on the list.
Listen to this MP3 file...

 
 
Author Holly Hughes - Part Two
More with Holly Hughes, who talks about some of the international locations on her list, as well as some more American location, such as some famous battlefields, that may soon disappear.
Listen to this MP3 file...

 
 
The World Traveler
Nigel Allom discusses what inspires him to travel, and why he's on his second year-long trip of the world. He also talks about what led him to America, and what some of his favorite places are.
Listen to this MP3 file...

 
 
Tips from the Traveler
Nigel describes how he made the plans for this trip, as well as the best and worst things about a journey such as his.
Listen to this MP3 file...

 
Links to Related Websites:
Frommers 500 Places To See Before They Disappear
500 Places to See Before They Disappear enables passionate travelers and the eco-conscious to learn about and plan a visit to see rare cultural, historic, and natural places before they are irrevocably altered or even gone forever. Here are one-of-a-kind landscapes, fragile ecosystems, rare bird habitats, places to see the last remaining species of big game in the wild, cityscapes in peril, vanishing cultural kitsch, petroglyphs, and more—500 thoughtfully-chosen treasures that will inspire and enlighten travelers of all ages.

Guest(s) Appearing on this Episode
Holly Hughes
Holly Hughes is also the author of Frommer's New York City With Kids, Frommer's 500 Places To Take Your Kids Before They Grow Up, and the forthcoming Frommer's 500 Places For Food and Wine Lovers (March). She is also the editor of the annual Best Food Writing anthologies.