Thursday • December 08
CST 7:43 | EST 8:43 | MST 6:43 | PST 5:43 | GMT 01:43
Other Non-Flash Media Players
National Underground Railroad Freedom Center
Bookmark and Share
This episode will highlight a visit to the National Underground Railroad Freedom Center and other attractions in Cincinnati, Ohio; the National Great Blacks in Wax Museum and other treasures in Baltimore, Maryland; the fascinating history and sites in Independence, Missouri; and we'll talk with the President of the National Black Tourism Network about a few Missourians who have risen from the ashes of slavery to prominence.
Episode Segments:
 
Underground Railroad Freedom Center
Paul Burnish, the Chief Communications Officer for the Underground Railroad Freedom Center talks about his museum and many of the historical offerings of Ohio. He also talks about some of the other resources his museum offers, including ways to trace your genealogy.
Listen to this MP3 file...

 
 
African American Attractions in Baltimore
Nancy Hinds, spokeswoman for the Baltimore Area Convention and Visitors Association joins Ian and Tonya to tell us about some of the unique attractions celebrating African-American culture, such as the Reginald Lewis Museum, and the National Great Blacks In Wax Museum.
Listen to this MP3 file...

 
 
Independence Missouri
Janeen Aggen from the Independence Board of Tourism tells Ian and Tonya about the fascinating history and sites of Independence, Missouri, the home of President Truman, pioneers and long-ago entrepreneurs.
Listen to this MP3 file...

 
 
National Black Tourism Network
Angela DeSilva, President of the National Black Tourism Network shares some stories about several Missourians who rose from the ashes of slavery to a place of prominence. She also discusses the mission of the tourism network.
Listen to this MP3 file...