Sunday • October 17
CST 7:24 | EST 8:24 | MST 6:24 | PST 5:24 | GMT 00:24
Other Non-Flash Media Players
Black Paris Tours
Bookmark and Share
Ricki Stevenson, founder of Black Paris Tours, introduces the rich culture that had defined Black Paris by taking us on a journey to the places made famous by Black soldiers, writers, and political exiles that came to the City of Light to flea American racism. From there, its off to the Caribbean to explore the influence of Africans on the island of Curacao.
Episode Segments:
 
Ricki Stevenson's Road to Paris
Ricki Stevenson, the founder of Black Paris Tours tells Ian and Tonya about the magic of Paris in the hearts and minds of the Black Community. She shares the story behind her fascination with Paris and its Black History, and what prompted her to start giving these unique tours.
Listen to this MP3 file...

 
 
A Unique Tour of the City of Light
Ricki tells us what the Black Paris Tours are all about; that there's much more to Paris than the last 200 years. Ricki also discusses the impact Africans have had on France throughout the centuries.
Listen to this MP3 file...

 
 
The Island of Curacao
Andre Rojer from Curacao Tourism Corporation gives Ian and Tonya an overview of the history of his island from its time as the center of the slave trade in the 17th century, to today, where the Afro influence is present in everything from the culture to the cuisine. Also learn how the history of the island is being preserved.
Listen to this MP3 file...

 
Links to Related Websites:
Learn More About Black Paris Tours
Black Paris Tours offers a richly unique cultural experience, providing visitors with information, insight, and little known facts about the wealth of African-American history in the City of Light!

Guest(s) Appearing on this Episode
Ricki Stevenson
Ricki Stevenson, the founder of Black Paris Tours, has served as lead guide since its inception in 1998. Stevenson, a native of Oakland, California, is a former TV news anchor/reporter and talk show host. She holds a master's degree in History, with an emphasis on African and African American history. Stevenson says the idea for Black Paris Tours grew out of her lifelong dream of living in Paris and six years experience as an international travel

Click here to visit her website