Thursday • May 23
CST 9:30 | EST 10:30 | MST 8:30 | PST 7:30 | GMT 14:30
Other Non-Flash Media Players
Make Your Platform Work For You!
Bookmark and Share
Personal platforms have become an important part of pageantry even if youre not competing in a pageant that requires a platform. Join us as we talk with Jayna Altman, Miss International 2008 , who is an expert at making her platform work! Well talk about how to select a platform that suits you as a contestant, how to get appearances and make an impression on your community, and how to market that platform during your interview. Jayna has competed in a variety of pageant systems and during the show youll learn how to make your platform work for any pageant!
Episode Segments:
 
Miss International 2008 Jayna Altman
Jayna shares the story of her difficult childhood, the challenges of learning to speak, and how she went from tomboy to pageants. She also talks about making the move from the America System to the International System.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...

 
 
Finding the Right Platform for You
Jayna gives advice on finding a platform that youre passionate about, how to get appearances, and how to market that platform during your interview & after the pageant. Plus Mrs. International 2008 Lane Berry talks about her platform.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...

 
 
Ask Valerie!
Valerie fields listener questions about why some systems dont give out their scores (and why all of them should), and picking out the right gown for you.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...

 
ABOUT JAYNA ALTMAN

Born severely premature, Jayna Altman spent the first three months of her life in the intensive care unit due to numerous medical complications. Her survival left her with a profound hearing loss. Doctors predicted as a result of such complications that Jayna would never learn to speak, or obtain beyond a third grade education. Despite such predictions, Jayna learned to speak beautifully as a result of intensive auditory verbal therapy for 12 years. She went on to graduate with distinction and honors from the University of California, San Diego; and has completed classes towards a doctorate in Audiology. She credits her success to following the beliefs in two programs she developed – Abilities First, and I CAN: Inspiring Confidence in Abilities Now. Jayna developed I CAN: Inspiring Confidence in Abilities Now when she saw a rising need in parents who needed a message of empowerment in living with a different ability (disability). However, she quickly realized that early identification and appropriate diagnosis were essential as well. With that in mind, she developed Abilities First, which focuses on the educational and health aspects through three phases – Identification and Intervention, Education and Knowledge, and Utilizing Surrounding Support Services.

Click here to visit Jayna’s website.