Tuesday • February 27
CST 1:24 | EST 2:24 | MST 12:24 | PST 11:24 | GMT 07:24
Other Non-Flash Media Players
April 27, 2019

What is inflammatory bowel disease?
Bookmark and Share
Dr. Edward Loftus Jr., a Mayo Clinic gastroenterologist, will discuss diagnosing IBD and treatment options. Also on the program, Dr. Avni Joshi, a pediatric allergy and immunology specialist at Mayo Clinic, will share the latest research on the incidence of food allergies in different age groups. And Dr. Charles Bruce, medical director of the Life Sciences Incubator on Mayo Clinic's Florida campus, will explain a new collaboration between Mayo Clinic and Georgia Tech. The Convergence Science Program pairs Georgia Tech's engineering expertise with a Mayo physician's ideas to tackle a clinical problem in need of a solution.
Episode Segments:
 
Mayo Clinic Radio: IBD
Inflammatory bowel disease (IBD) is an umbrella term used to describe disorders that involve chronic inflammation of the digestive tract. There are two common types: ulcerative colitis, which causes ulcers, or sores, in the lining of the large intestine and rectum, and Crohn’s disease, which causes inflammation of the lining of any part of the digestive tract. Symptoms of IBD usually involve severe diarrhea, abdominal pain, fatigue and weight loss. IBD can be debilitating and sometimes lead to life-threatening complications. While there is no cure for IBD, treatment can reduce the inflammation that triggers your signs and symptoms, and, in the best cases, lead to long-term remission.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...