Tuesday • February 27
CST 1:26 | EST 2:26 | MST 12:26 | PST 11:26 | GMT 07:26
Other Non-Flash Media Players
May 04, 2019

Stroke and Stroke Prevention
Bookmark and Share
May is National Stroke Awareness Month. On the next Mayo Clinic Radio program, Dr. Robert D. Brown Jr., a Mayo Clinic neurologist and stroke expert, will discuss stroke and stroke prevention. Also on the program, Dr. Paul McKie, a Mayo Clinic cardiologist, will explain when and why you might need a cardiac stress test. And Dr. Craig Sawchuk, a psychologist and co-chair of Mayo Clinic’s Division of Integrated Behavioral Health, will have tips for being a good mental health consumer.
Episode Segments:
 
Mayo Clinic Radio: Stroke Awareness
On average, someone in the U.S. has a stroke every 40 seconds, and every 4 minutes someone dies from one, according to the National Institutes of Health. Stroke is one of the leading causes of death in the U.S. and causes more long-term disabilities than any other disease. The older you are, the more likely you are to have a stroke, as the risk of having a stroke more than doubles each decade after age 55.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...