Sunday • March 03
CST 10:23 | EST 11:23 | MST 9:23 | PST 8:23 | GMT 04:23
Other Non-Flash Media Players
November 12, 2016

Pain Management
Bookmark and Share
According to the National Institutes of Health, chronic pain affects more Americans than diabetes, heart disease and cancer combined. Chronic pain is the most common cause of disability in the U.S., and itís often treated with opioid pain medications. But opioids have side effects, including the risk of addiction. To find better ways to manage chronic pain, clinical trials at Mayo Clinic are testing complementary therapies, such as acupuncture, massage and yoga, as alternatives to medications. On the next Mayo Clinic Radio program, Dr. Brent Bauer, director of the Mayo Clinic Complementary and Integrative Medicine Program, explains complementary pain management therapies. Dr. Bauer also will unveil Mayo Clinicís new Well Living Lab, which studies the connection between healthy living and the indoor environment. Also on the program, psychologist Dr. Bridget Biggs will discuss the childhood obesity epidemic. And radiation oncologist Dr. Nadia Laack will give an update on the Mayo Clinic Proton Beam Therapy Program.
Episode Segments:
 
Mayo Clinic Radio: Pain Management
Pain management / Well Living Lab / childhood obesity / proton beam therapy
Listen to this MP3 file...