Sunday • March 03
CST 10:07 | EST 11:07 | MST 9:07 | PST 8:07 | GMT 04:07
Other Non-Flash Media Players
September 30, 2017

Becoming Doctor Q
Bookmark and Share
Born in a small village outside of Mexicali, Mexico, Alfredo Quinones-Hinojosa started working at age 5 to help with his family's expenses. When he finished school, he believed that opportunity for a better life could be found in the U.S. When he arrived in the U.S. at age 19, he spoke no English. Quinones-Hinojosa learned the English language at a community college, received a scholarship to the University of California, Berkeley, and then went on to graduate from Harvard Medical School. The story of becoming "Dr. Q," as he is affectionately known, is an incredible journey that is being made into a feature film.

Dr. Alfredo Quinones-Hinojosa, chair of Neurologic Surgery at Mayo Clinic, will share his personal journey and discuss his work as a neurosurgeon. Also on the program, Dr. Evanthia Galanis, chair of the Molecular Medicine Department at Mayo Clinic, will explain how the measles virus is being used to fight cancer. And Dr. Rahma Warsame, an internist and researcher at Mayo Clinic, will discuss the financial toxicity of cancer care
Episode Segments:
 
Mayo Clinic Radio: Becoming Dr. Q
Becoming Dr. Q / using the measles virus to fight cancer / financial toxicity of cancer care
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...