Sunday • March 03
CST 10:28 | EST 11:28 | MST 9:28 | PST 8:28 | GMT 04:28
Other Non-Flash Media Players
September 29, 2018

Lung Cancer Screening
Bookmark and Share
Dr. Shanda Blackmon, a thoracic surgeon at Mayo Clinic, will explain lung cancer screening and surgical options for treating the disease. Dr. Blackmon also will cover mesothelioma, another type of cancer that often occurs in the tissue surrounding the lungs. Also on the program, Dr. Jamie Van Gompel, a neurosurgeon at Mayo Clinic, will explain how deep brain stimulation is being used to control seizures for some epilepsy patients. And Dr. Jon Ebbert, an internal medicine and addiction specialist at Mayo Clinic, will discuss alcohol use disorder
Episode Segments:
 
Mayo Clinic Radio: Lung Cancer Screening
Lung cancer is the leading cause of cancer deaths in the U.S., according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Lung cancer claims more lives each year than colon, prostate, ovarian and breast cancers combined. Because lung cancer typically doesn't cause signs and symptoms in its earliest stages, the disease often is not diagnosed until the advanced stages. Treatment for lung cancer can include radiation, chemotherapy and surgery to remove the cancer.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...