Sunday • March 03
CST 10:20 | EST 11:20 | MST 9:20 | PST 8:20 | GMT 04:20
Other Non-Flash Media Players
September 22, 2018

Car T-Cell Therapy
Bookmark and Share
In the fight against cancer, one of the most promising treatment advances is harnessing the power of the bodyís own immune system to fight the cancer. Chimeric antigen receptor T-cell therapy (CAR T-cell therapy) uses genetically modified versions of a patientís own immune cells to fight his or her cancer.

Dr. Yi Lin, chair of the Cellular Therapeutics Cross-Disciplinary Group at Mayo Clinic, will explain how CAR T-cell therapy works and where the research is headed next. Also on the program, Dr. Charanjit Rihal, an interventional cardiologist at Mayo Clinic, will discuss treatment and prevention of coronary artery disease. And Dr. Nipunie Rajapakse, an infectious diseases specialist at Mayo Clinic, will share tips on how to help kids avoid common infections.
Episode Segments:
 
Mayo Clinic Radio: Chimeric antigen receptor T-cell therapy
CAR T-cell therapy begins by collecting a patientís white blood cells (T-cells) and sending them to a central manufacturing facility, where they are genetically modified to direct them against a patientís cancer. Once processed, the CAR T-cells are frozen and sent back to the hospital for IV infusion back into the patient.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...