Sunday • March 03
CST 10:04 | EST 11:04 | MST 9:04 | PST 8:04 | GMT 04:04
Other Non-Flash Media Players
August 11, 2018

Individualized Medicine
Bookmark and Share
Dr. Keith Stewart, Carlson and Nelson Endowed Director of the Mayo Clinic Center for Individualized Medicine, will discuss the latest individualized cancer treatments and preview the upcoming Individualizing Medicine 2018 conference. Also on the program, Dr. Kathryn Ruddy, director of cancer survivorship at the Mayo Clinic Cancer Center in Rochester, Minnesota, will share results of a study that found that many breast cancer survivors aren't following mammogram screening guidelines. And Dr. Christopher Russi, director of Community Emergency Medicine at Mayo Clinic, will explain a pilot program that is using telemedicine during emergency transport.
Episode Segments:
 
Mayo Clinic Radio: Individualized Medicine
Individualized medicine, also known as personalized medicine or precision medicine, means tailoring diagnosis and treatment to each patient to optimize care. Through genetic testing and genome sequencing, health care providers can use your genetic code to more effectively and precisely diagnose, treat, predict and, eventually, prevent disease. Recently, there have been advancements in individualized cancer treatments, including liquid biopsy, biomarkers, and chimeric antigen receptor T-cell therapy.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...