Sunday • March 03
CST 11:14 | EST 12:14 | MST 10:14 | PST 9:14 | GMT 05:14
Other Non-Flash Media Players
August 10, 2019

Infectious Disease Update
Bookmark and Share
adio program, Dr. Gregory Poland, a Mayo Clinic infectious diseases and vaccine expert, will give an update on infectious disease hot topics, including the hope for a universal flu vaccine and new age guidelines for the HPV vaccine. Also on the program, Dr. John Lieske will explain how kidney stones form and how they are treated. Dr. Lieske also will discuss a new kidney stone prevention study at Mayo Clinic. And Jessica Erickson, a Mayo Clinic patient, along with her Mayo Clinic plastic surgeon, Dr. Basel Sharaf, will share her successful weight-loss journey, which included bariatric surgery.
Episode Segments:
 
Mayo Clinic Radio: Infectious Diseases
Whether it's Lyme disease or the ongoing concern about measles, infectious diseases and vaccines are hot topics in the news. Infectious diseases are disorders caused by organisms such as bacteria, viruses, fungi or parasites. Some infectious diseases can be passed from person to person. Some are transmitted by insects or other animals. Many infectious diseases, such as measles and chickenpox, can be prevented by vaccines.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...