Monday • February 26
CST 11:53 | EST 12:53 | MST 10:53 | PST 9:53 | GMT 05:53
Other Non-Flash Media Players
July 07, 2018

Explaining Antibiotic Resistance
Bookmark and Share
Dr. Nipunie Rajapakse, an infectious disease specialist at Mayo Clinic, will explain antibiotic resistance and antibiotic allergies. Also on the program, Dr. Robert Jacobson, a pediatrician at Mayo Clinic, will discuss whether children should take probiotics. And Dr. J. Taylor Hays, director of the Mayo Clinic Nicotine Dependence Center, has a warning about the dangers of using e-cigarettes
Episode Segments:
 
Mayo Clinic Radio: Antibiotic Resistance
At least 2 million people in the U.S. become infected annually with antibiotic-resistant bacteria, and at least 23,000 people die each year as a direct result of these infections, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Antibiotics have been used for more than 70 years to treat patients who have infectious diseases. Since the 1940s, these drugs have greatly reduced illness and death from infection. However, antibiotics have been so widely used for so long that the drugs have become less effective. Organisms the antibiotics are designed to kill have adapted.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...