Sunday • March 03
CST 11:11 | EST 12:11 | MST 10:11 | PST 9:11 | GMT 05:11
Other Non-Flash Media Players
July 06, 2019

Pituary Tumors
Bookmark and Share
Dr. William Young Jr., a Mayo Clinic endocrinologist, will discuss pituitary tumors. Also on the program, Dr. Emanuel Trabuco, chair of Mayo Clinic's Division of Urogynecology, will explain treatment options for stress urinary incontinence in women. And Dr. Joy Wolfram, a Mayo Clinic researcher, will share how nanomedicine seeks to improve cancer care.
Episode Segments:
 
Mayo Clinic Radio: Pituitary tumors
The pituitary gland is a hormone-producing gland at the base of the brain. Sometimes known as the "master gland," the pituitary gland produces and regulates hormones that help the body function. Pituitary tumors are abnormal growths that develop in your pituitary gland. Some pituitary tumors result in too many of the hormones that regulate important functions of your body. Some pituitary tumors can cause your pituitary gland to produce lower levels of hormones. Most pituitary tumors are noncancerous (benign) growths that remain in your pituitary gland or surrounding tissues, and don't spread to other parts of your body. There are various options for treating pituitary tumors, including removing the tumor, controlling its growth and managing your hormone levels with medications. Your health care provider also may recommend a wait-and-see approach.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...