Sunday • March 03
CST 11:18 | EST 12:18 | MST 10:18 | PST 9:18 | GMT 05:18
Other Non-Flash Media Players
June 23, 2018

Eyes Predict Disease
Bookmark and Share
Dr. James Garrity, an ophthalmologist at Mayo Clinic, will discuss how your eyes can predict your health. Also on the program, Dr. Christopher Camp, an orthopedic surgeon at Mayo Clinic, will discuss muscle strains and ligament sprains. And Dr. Paul Stadem, a recent Mayo Clinic School of Medicine graduate, will share what life is like for a medical student.
Episode Segments:
 
Mayo Clinic Radio: Eyes Predict Your Health
You’ve probably heard the saying, “The eyes are the window to the soul ...” But your eyes also may be a window to your overall health. Diabetes, hypertension and high cholesterol all can be detected during an eye exam when an ophthalmologist examines the blood vessels and nerves in the retina, or back of the eye. Now there is evidence that changes in the eyes' blood vessels also may predict future brain health. A recent study, published in Neurology, shows small changes in the blood vessels within the eyes at age 60 also may help predict memory loss over the next two decades.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...