Sunday • March 03
CST 10:29 | EST 11:29 | MST 9:29 | PST 8:29 | GMT 04:29
Other Non-Flash Media Players
June 08, 2019

Breast Cancer Screening Guidelines
Bookmark and Share
Dr. Amy Degnim, a Mayo Clinic breast cancer surgeon, discusses breast cancer screening guidelines from the American Society of Breast Surgeons. Dr. Degnim also discusses advances in breast cancer surgery. Also on the podcast, Dr. Bradley Boeve, a Mayo Clinic neurologist, explains progressive supranuclear palsy, a rare brain disease. And Dr. Shanda Blackmon, a Mayo Clinic general thoracic surgeon, discusses treatment for esophageal cancer.
Episode Segments:
 
Mayo Clinic Radio: Breast Cancer Screening
After skin cancer, breast cancer is the most common cancer diagnosed in women in the U.S. When it comes to screening for breast cancer, mammograms are still the gold standard for early detection. But changing guidelines and competing recommendations on when to start screening has caused confusion for many women. Recently, The American Society of Breast Surgeons weighed in, calling for a breast cancer risk assessment for all women over 25. In addition, The American Society of Breast Surgeons recommends a return to the traditional screening age of 40 for average-risk women and earlier annual screening for those at higher risk for the disease.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...