Sunday • March 03
CST 10:07 | EST 11:07 | MST 9:07 | PST 8:07 | GMT 04:07
Other Non-Flash Media Players
May 18, 2019

Using AI for Heart Health
Bookmark and Share
Dr. Paul Friedman, chair of the Department of Cardiology at Mayo Clinic, and Dr. Peter Noseworthy, a Mayo Clinic cardiologist, will share how AI is helping detect problems with the heart. Then Mary Schoenbeck, a Mayo Clinic patient from Scottsdale, Arizona, will share how a smart watch alerted her to a potential heart problem. Also on the program, Dr. Christopher Boes, division chair of Neurology Education at Mayo Clinic, will explain a new group of medications aimed at preventing migraine headaches. And Dr. Robert Wilfahrt, a Family Medicine physician at Mayo Clinic, will discuss attention deficit hyperactivity disorder in adults.
Episode Segments:
 
Mayo Clinic Radio: AI for Heart Health
A recent Mayo Clinic study found that applying artificial intelligence (AI) to a widely available, inexpensive test the EKG results in a simple, affordable test for early signs of heart failure. The test detects asymptomatic left ventricular dysfunction, which is a precursor to heart failure. Asymptomatic left ventricular dysfunction affects 7 million Americans, and is associated with reduced quality of life and longevity. But asymptomatic left ventricular dysfunction is treatable when identified. The research team found that the AI/EKG test accuracy compares favorably with other common screening tests, such as mammography for breast cancer. The findings were published in Nature Medicine.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...