Sunday • March 03
CST 10:18 | EST 11:18 | MST 9:18 | PST 8:18 | GMT 04:18
Other Non-Flash Media Players
May 12, 2018

Transcatheter aortic valve replacement
Bookmark and Share
On the Mayo Clinic Radio podcast, Dr. Charanjit Rihal, a cardiologist at Mayo Clinic, discusses aortic valve disease and options for valve repair and replacement. Also on the podcast, Dr. Alice Gallo De Moraes, a critical care specialist at Mayo Clinic, explains how Rapid Response Teams help hospitalized patients get critical care when they need it. And Dr. Susan Moeschler, an anesthesiologist and researcher at Mayo Clinic, shares her research on the challenges women face as medical professionals
Episode Segments:
 
Mayo Clinic Radio: Transcatheter aortic valve replacement
The aortic valve is one of four valves that regulate blood flow through the heart. These valves keep blood flowing in the correct direction. Aortic valve disease is a condition in which the valve between the main pumping chamber of the heart (left ventricle) and the main artery to the body (aorta) doesn't work properly. Treatment for aortic valve disease depends on the severity of the condition, whether or not there are signs and symptoms, and if the condition is getting worse. For the most serious cases, aortic valve repair or replacement surgery might be needed to fix the problem.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...