Sunday • March 03
CST 10:28 | EST 11:28 | MST 9:28 | PST 8:28 | GMT 04:28
Other Non-Flash Media Players
May 02, 2015

Dense-Breast Imaging
Bookmark and Share
It's well known that women with dense breast tissue are less likely to get accurate results from mammograms. Now there's a new breast-imaging technology called Molecular Breast Imaging, or MBI, that shows promise for increasing the rate of detection of invasive breast cancers in women with dense breasts. On the next Mayo Clinic Radio, Dr. Deborah Rhodes, Dr. Michael O'Connor and Dr. Katie Jones discuss MBI. Also on the program, nurses Margo Kroshus and Sherry Rengstorf share their advice and insights about hospice care. And cardiologist Dr. Bruce Fye talks about his new book, Caring for the Heart: Mayo Clinic and the Rise of Specialization.
Episode Segments:
 
Mayo Clinic Radio: Dense-Breast Imaging/Hospice Nursing/Medical History Book
Listen to this MP3 file...

 
Links to Related Websites:
Caring For The Heart: Mayo Clinic And The Rise Of Specialization
This groundbreaking book weaves together three important themes. It describes major developments in the diagnosis and treatment of heart disease in the twentieth century, explains how the Mayo Clinic evolved from a family practice in Minnesota into one of the world's leading medical centers, and reveals how the invention of new technologies and procedures promoted specialization among physicians and surgeons.