Sunday • March 03
CST 11:22 | EST 12:22 | MST 10:22 | PST 9:22 | GMT 05:22
Other Non-Flash Media Players
April 21, 2018

National Donate Life Month
Bookmark and Share
April is National Donate Life Month, a time to encourage people to become organ, eye or tissue donors. This is also a time to celebrate donors and transplant recipients.

Dr. Charles Rosen, director of the Mayo Clinic Transplant Center, will discuss the importance of organ donation and operating a transplant center with three sites. Also on the program, Dr. Adrian Vella, an endocrinologist at Mayo Clinic, will discuss A1C guidelines for diabetes. And Dr. Michael Joyner, a Mayo Clinic anesthesiologist, will share the many benefits of exercise
Episode Segments:
 
Mayo Clinic Radio: Organ donation and transplant
Someone is added to a transplant waiting list every 10 minutes, according to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). Transplant surgery now makes it possible for many organs and tissues to be donated, including: hearts, kidneys, lungs, pancreases, livers, intestines, corneas, skin, tendons, bones, nerves and heart valves. Unfortunately, many people awaiting transplant never get the call saying that a suitable donor organ and a second chance at life has been found. Statistics from HHS show that 8,000 people die in the U.S. each year because organs are not donated in time.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...