Tuesday • February 27
CST 1:06 | EST 2:06 | MST 12:06 | PST 11:06 | GMT 07:06
Other Non-Flash Media Players
March 25, 2017

Diabetes Alert Day
Bookmark and Share
According to Centers For Disease Control and Prevention, more than 29 million Americans have diabetes. Thatís about 1 out of every 11 people in the U.S. Just as startling is that 1 out of 4 people with diabetes donít know they have it. Diabetes means there is too much glucose, or sugar, in the blood. This can lead to serious health problems, such as increased risk of cardiovascular disease, nerve and kidney damage, and problems with the eyes and feet. The fourth Tuesday in March is Diabetes Alert Day ó a one-day wake-up call to inform the American public about the seriousness of diabetes, particularly when diabetes is left undiagnosed or untreated. On the next Mayo Clinic Radio program, endocrinologist Dr. Robert Rizza will discuss diagnosis, treatment and prevention of diabetes. Also on the program, neurologist Dr. David Knopman will share information on how the brain ages and what can be done to protect brain health. And Debbie Fuehrer, a counselor with Mayo Clinic's Integrative Medicine and Health Program, will explain how hypnosis is used in the clinical setting.
Episode Segments:
 
Mayo Clinic Radio: Diabetes Alert Day
Mayo Clinic Radio: Diabetes Alert Day / brain aging / hypnosis
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...