Tuesday • February 27
CST 1:18 | EST 2:18 | MST 12:18 | PST 11:18 | GMT 07:18
Other Non-Flash Media Players
March 17, 2018

Colorectal Cancer Awareness
Bookmark and Share
March is Colorectal Cancer Awareness Month, an annual campaign to raise awareness and encourage people to get screened for this deadly, but preventable, form of cancer. On the Mayo Clinic Radio podcast, Dr. John Kisiel, a gastroenterologist at Mayo Clinic, discusses screening, treatment and prevention of colorectal cancer. Also on the podcast, Dr. Christopher Viozzi, an oral and maxillofacial surgeon at Mayo Clinic, explains surgical options that can treat sleep apnea. And Dr. Guojun Bu, associate director of the Mayo Clinic Center for Regenerative Medicine, explains how new U.S. Food and Drug Administration approval clears the way for Mayo Clinic to accelerate production of stem cells for clinic trials.
Episode Segments:
 
Mayo Clinic Radio: Colorectal Cancer Awareness Month
According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, of cancers that affect both men and women, colorectal cancer is the second most frequent cause of cancer death in the U.S. Most cases of colon cancer begin as small, noncancerous (benign) clumps of cells called polyps. Over time, some of these polyps become colon cancers. Because these polyps may be small and produce few, if any, symptoms, health care providers recommend regular screening tests to prevent colon cancer by identifying and removing polyps before they become cancerous.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...