Sunday • March 03
CST 11:09 | EST 12:09 | MST 10:09 | PST 9:09 | GMT 05:09
Other Non-Flash Media Players
March 10, 2018

Risks and Rewards of Youth Sports
Bookmark and Share
Dr. Michael Stuart, co-director of the Mayo Clinic Sports Medicine Center, breaks down the benefits and risks of youth sports. Also on the podcast, Dr. Scott Nyberg, director of the liver program at the Mayo Clinic Center for Regenerative Medicine, discusses the latest advances in treating liver disease. And Dr. Amaal Starling, a neurologist at Mayo Clinic, explains what causes the painful but short-lived ice cream headache
Episode Segments:
 
Mayo Clinic Radio: Youth Sports
From the basketball court to the soccer field, the tennis court to the swimming pool, youth sports can be a great way for kids to be social and active. Kids also can learn the importance of teamwork, sportsmanship, perseverance, and respect for authority and rules. According to the Sports & Society Program at the Aspen Institute, 3 out of 4 American households have at least one school-age child participating in youth sports. But youth sports are not without risk. Worries about concussions, overuse injuries and loss of perspective by fans and coaches can make parents question whether youth sports are right for their children.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...