Tuesday • February 27
CST 1:17 | EST 2:17 | MST 12:17 | PST 11:17 | GMT 07:17
Other Non-Flash Media Players
March 04, 2017

Multiple sclerosis
Bookmark and Share
Multiple sclerosis, commonly known as MS, is a potentially disabling disease of the central nervous system. In MS, the immune system attacks the protective sheath (myelin) that covers nerve fibers and causes communication problems between your brain and the rest of your body. Eventually, the disease can cause the nerves themselves to deteriorate or become permanently damaged. March is Multiple Sclerosis Awareness Month, and, on the next Mayo Clinic Radio program, Dr. Mark Keegan, a neurologist and MS division chair at Mayo Clinic, will discuss treatment options for MS. Also on the program, cardiologist Dr. Rekha Mankad explains why caution should be used when taking nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs such as ibuprofen. And Dr. William Hogan, director of the Mayo Clinic Bone Marrow Transplant Program, will explain how and why a bone marrow transplant is done.
Episode Segments:
 
Mayo Clinic Radio: Multiple sclerosis
Mayo Clinic Radio: Multiple sclerosis / nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs / bone marrow transplant
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...