Sunday • March 03
CST 11:19 | EST 12:19 | MST 10:19 | PST 9:19 | GMT 05:19
Other Non-Flash Media Players
March 02, 2019

Colorectal Cancer Prevention
Bookmark and Share
March is Colorectal Cancer Awareness Month. On the next Mayo Clinic Radio program, Dr. John Kisiel, a Mayo Clinic gastroenterologist, will discuss screening and treatment options for colorectal cancer. Also on the program, Dr. Pritish Tosh, a Mayo Clinic infectious diseases expert, will give an update on the measles outbreak and flu season. And two Mayo Clinic staff members and friends — Melanie Peterson and Lindsay Stromback — will share their story of supporting each other through breast cancer treatment.
Episode Segments:
 
Colorectal cancer awareness month
Most cases of colorectal cancer begin as small, noncancerous (benign) clumps of cells called polyps. Over time, some of these polyps become colon cancers. Of the cancers that affect both men and women, colorectal cancer is the second leading cause of cancer death in the U.S., according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. But it doesn’t have to be. Colorectal cancer is also one of the most preventable cancers if people get the recommended screening. These screening tests can find precancerous polyps so they can be removed before turning into cancer. Screening also helps find colorectal cancer at an early stage, when treatment is more effective in curing the disease.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...