Sunday • March 03
CST 10:05 | EST 11:05 | MST 9:05 | PST 8:05 | GMT 04:05
Other Non-Flash Media Players
February 18, 2017

Liver Transplant and Organ Donation
Bookmark and Share
According to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, more than 14,000 people are waiting for a liver transplant today in the U.S. Liver transplant usually is reserved as a treatment option for people who have significant complications due to end-stage chronic liver disease. In rare cases, sudden failure of a previously normal liver may occur. The liver is just one of several organs, including kidney, heart and lung, that have long transplant waiting lists. On the next Mayo Clinic Radio program, transplant surgeon Dr. Charles Rosen will discuss liver transplant and the importance of organ donation. Also on the program, Toni Mangskau, clinical trials referral coordinator at Mayo Clinic’s Cancer Education Center in Rochester, Minnesota, will explain how clinical trials are conducted. And gastroenterologist Dr. Michael Camilleri will offer prevention tips for the common problem of constipation.
Episode Segments:
 
Mayo Clinic Radio: Organ Donation
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...