Sunday • March 03
CST 10:31 | EST 11:31 | MST 9:31 | PST 8:31 | GMT 04:31
Other Non-Flash Media Players
January 07, 2017

Orthopedic trauma patient story
Bookmark and Share
essica Nelson doesn’t remember much about the automobile accident that nearly took her life. After surgery in Sioux Falls, South Dakota, to stabilize a compound fracture in her lower leg, Nelson developed an infection that ate away more than 3 inches of bone, and amputation was discussed. An avid volleyball player with hopes of playing in college, Nelson came to Mayo Clinic for a second opinion and met with orthopedic trauma surgeon Dr. Andy Sems in the hopes of saving her leg. On the next Mayo Clinic Radio program, Dr. Sems and Nelson join the program to tell the story. Also on the program, Mayo Clinic reporter Jeff Olsen will explain how covering medical topics this past year helped him make lifestyle changes and improve his own health. Finally, internal medicine specialist Dr. Anjali Bhagra will share the latest research on how men and women differ when it comes to dealing with stress.
Episode Segments:
 
Mayo Clinic Radio: Orthopedic Trauma
Orthopedic trauma patient story / practice what you preach / stress and demographics
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...