Saturday • April 20
CST 3:33 | EST 4:33 | MST 2:33 | PST 1:33 | GMT 08:33
Other Non-Flash Media Players
Bad Bacteria - Does the Anti-approach work?
Bookmark and Share
Bad Bacteria is everywhere. In hospitals, locker rooms, schools, even in our own homes. What do you need to know to protect yourself from infections such as MRSA? Dr. Stuart Levy is an expert in this area, and has some information you need to know.
Episode Segments:
 
Healthy Talk Radio: MRSA and Bad Bacteria
News about hospital-acquired infections and MRSA are everywhere these days. But what do you need to know about the causes and prevention of these deadly and sometimes even fatal infections? Author and Researcher Dr. Stuart Levy, president of the Alliance for the Prudent Use of Antibiotics, discusses this growing epidemic with Deborah, and what you can do to fight it.
Listen to this MP3 file...

 
Guest(s) Appearing on this Episode
Stuart Levy
Stuart B. Levy, MD is the director of the Center for Adaptation Genetics and Drug Resistance at Tufts University School of Medicine and Staff Physician at the New England Medical Center. He also serves as president of the Alliance for the Prudent Use of Antibiotics. In addition to his papers on antibiotic use and resistance for scientific journals, Levy has edited four books and two special journal editions on the subject, including The Antibiotic Paradox: How Miracle Drugs Are Destroying the Miracle. In his research, he led the discovery of the first characterized energy-dependent antibiotic efflux mechanism and efflux protein, that for tetracycline resistance. His interests have expanded to the phenomenon of multidrug resistance in bacterial and mammalian cells. Levy is a fellow of the American College of Physicians, Infectious Disease Society of America, and the American Academy of Microbiology.

Click here to visit his website