Friday • April 19
CST 10:33 | EST 11:33 | MST 9:33 | PST 8:33 | GMT 15:33
Other Non-Flash Media Players
December 02, 2020

How messenger RNA vaccines work
Bookmark and Share
Episode Segments:
 
How messenger RNA vaccines work
The first COVID-19 vaccines to reach the market are likely to be messenger RNA vaccines, or mRNA. According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, mRNA vaccines work by teaching cells in the body how to make a protein that triggers an immune response. Unlike many vaccines that use a weakened or inactivated form of a virus, mRNA vaccines do not use the live virus that causes COVID-19.

On the Mayo Clinic Q&A podcast, Dr. Gregory Poland, an infectious diseases expert and head of Mayo Clinic's Vaccine Research Group, explains how mRNA vaccines work, gives a status update on the pandemic and answers listener questions.

Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...