Tuesday • February 27
CST 1:41 | EST 2:41 | MST 12:41 | PST 11:41 | GMT 07:41
Other Non-Flash Media Players
March 14, 2020

Pediatric Diabetes
Bookmark and Share
Episode Segments:
 
Pediatric Diabetes
There are more than 30 million people in the U.S. who have diabetes, and that includes close to 200,000 Americans under the age of 20 who have been diagnosed with the disease. Type 1 and Type 2 diabetes are different diseases, but both are caused by a lack of insulin. Both forms of the disease are increasing in children, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Monitoring and managing blood sugar levels is important for diabetics, and this can be particularly challenging for children and adolescents.

On the next Mayo Clinic Radio program, Dr. Ana Creo, a pediatric endocrinologist, and Janet Hansen, a nurse and diabetes educator, will discuss pediatric diabetes. Also on the program, Tim Myer, a Mayo Clinic cystic fibrosis patient, will share how a new medication helped him get off the lung transplant list. Dr. Mark Wylam, a Mayo Clinic pulmonologist and Myer's physician, will join the discussion. And Dr. Jonathan D'Cunha, a Mayo Clinic thoracic surgeon, will explain when thoracic surgery might be needed.

Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...