Tuesday • February 27
CST 1:16 | EST 2:16 | MST 12:16 | PST 11:16 | GMT 07:16
Other Non-Flash Media Players
February 08, 2020

Obesity Epidemic and Popular Diet Trends
Bookmark and Share
Episode Segments:
 
Obesity Epidemic And Popular Diet Trends
Whether caused by too many processed foods or a sedentary lifestyle, there is no doubt that Americans are getting heavier. Researchers predict that by 2030, half of U.S. adults will be considered obese, according to body mass index (BMI) guidelines. BMI is a measure of body fat in adult men and women based on height and weight. A simple calculator tool can be used to determine BMI.

On the next Mayo Clinic Radio program, Dr. Donald Hensrud, director of the Mayo Clinic Healthy Living Program, will discuss the obesity epidemic and talk about popular diet trends, including intermittent fasting. Also on the program to recognize Feb. 14 is National Donor Day will be Dr. Mikel Prieto, a Mayo Clinic transplant surgeon. Dr. Prieto will explain living kidney donation. And Dr. Susan Cullinan, a Mayo Clinic emergency medicine physician, will share tips for avoiding winter safety hazards such as carbon monoxide poisoning, frostbite, and winter falls.

Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...