Friday • July 19
CST 5:53 | EST 6:53 | MST 4:53 | PST 3:53 | GMT 22:53
Other Non-Flash Media Players
January 26, 2019

Breast Cancer Preventive Care
Bookmark and Share
Research shows African-American women at high risk for breast cancer do less than white women when it comes to getting preventative care. What can be done to encourage this potentially life saving care among all women? Then- want to lose your bad habits and get some good ones? A performance expert says the best way is to make tiny changes.
Episode Segments:
 
Women’s Preventative Care
Tasleem Padamsee, PhD, Assistant Professor of Health Services Management and Policy at Ohio State University. Dr. Padamsee led a study that found that African-American women at high risk of breast cancer are less likely than white women to pursue potentially life-saving preventive care. She talked about the most common preventative steps that at-risk patients can take. She also encouraged patients to talk to their physicians about cancer risk concerns.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...

 
 
Tiny Changes for Better Habits
James Clear, author of Atomic Habits: Tiny Changes, Remarkable Results offered strategies aimed at forming good habits, breaking bad ones, and mastering the tiny behaviors that lead to extraordinary results. He explained how to find the underlying causes of bad habits and why that can help to correct them. He offered examples of ways to redesign an environment to break bad habits.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...

 
 
Marijuana and the Brain
It’s well known that marijuana use has a negative impact on brain function and memory. Dr. Neil Dawson’s research team examined what specific areas of the brain are affected by long term use, for both recreational users and patients who use the drug to combat epilepsy, multiple sclerosis and chronic pain. He said long term use of the drug impairs the ability of brain regions involved in learning and memory to communicate with each other. Dr. Dawson is a Lecturer in Biomedicine at Lancaster University, Lancaster, United Kingdom.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...