Wednesday • February 28
CST 4:31 | EST 5:31 | MST 3:31 | PST 2:31 | GMT 10:31
Other Non-Flash Media Players
Choice Theory
Bookmark and Share
Our guest Kim Olver, LCPC, NCC, BCC is the best-selling, award winning author of Secrets of Happy Couples, the Executive Director of William Glasser International and The William Glasser Institute - US, and the founder and president of Coaching for Excellence. She also wrote the book, Leveraging Diversity at Work. Kim is an internationally renowned speaker and coach who specializes in helping people get along better with the important people in their lives, including themselves, at home and at work.
Episode Segments:
 
Clarity from Chaos: Kim Olver and Choice Theory
The 1998 book, Choice Theory: A New Psychology of Personal Freedom, is the primary text for all that is taught by The William Glasser Institute. Choice theory states that:

  • all we do is behave,

  • that almost all behavior is chosen, and

  • that we are driven by our genes to satisfy five basic needs: survival, love and belonging, power, freedom and fun.

We explore Choice Theory, it's habits and axioms with Kim Olver, Executive Director of WGI-US
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...

 
Guest(s) Appearing on this Episode
Kim Olver
Kim Olver, MS., NCC., LCPC, BCC helps people get along better with the important people in their lives, including themselves, at home and at work. She is the award winning author of Secrets of Happy Couples: Loving Yourself, Your Partner, and Your Life, and has also contributed to Whole Living, Women’s World, Fitness Magazine, Law of Attraction Magazine and Counseling Today. She co-authored Leveraging Diversity at Work: How to Hire, Retain, and Inspire a Diverse Workforce for Peak Productivity and Performance with Sylvester Baugh and co-authored a book with Ken Blanchard, Les Brown, Mark Victor Hansen and Byron Katie, entitled 101 Great Ways to Improve Your Life . She is an international speaker having worked in Europe, Australia and the continent of Africa, as well as all over the United States, who addresses schools, counselors, therapists, social workers, military veterans, coaches, couples, parents and businesses on her transformational ideas. She is a licensed clinical professional counselor, certified in Choice Theory and Reality Therapy. As a life coach, she founded the Academy of Choice and developed the process of InsideOut Empowerment, which she employs with her clients and teaches to fellow coaches.

More About Kim