Tuesday • May 24
CST 1:43 | EST 2:43 | MST 12:43 | PST 11:43 | GMT 18:43
Other Non-Flash Media Players
August 11, 2012

Protecting Your Child’s Identity
Bookmark and Share
For years, identity theft has been a problem affecting millions of Americans. But the latest identity theft scam is targeting children. We have the details. Then, people never seem to have enough time for work or have time at home. But where does all the time go? The reality of it may surprise you.
Episode Segments:
 
InfoTrak: Protecting Your Child’s Identity

Robert Vamosi, computer virus and security columnist for CNET says there is a new variation on identity theft, this time targeting children. He explained how online companies use sophisticated software to find existing but unused Social Security numbers, then sell the dormant numbers to thieves. Mr. Vamosi offered advice to parents who are concerned about protecting their child’s social security number
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...

 
 
InfoTrak: You Have More Time Than You Think

A week contains 168 hours, but most people complain about not having enough time at home or work. Laura Vanderkam, time-management expert and author of 168 Hours: You Have More Time Than You Think believes 168 hours is actually quite a bit of time, if managed properly. She offered practical tips on how to use time wisely to boost productivity, efficiency and happiness.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...

 
 
InfoTrak: Children and Vaccinations

Dr, Elizabeth T. Luman, PhD, epidemiologist at the National Center for Immunization and Respiratory Diseases led a study that determined that more than a quarter of American children are not meeting the US government’s recommendations for childhood vaccinations. She explained why parents fail to keep up with vaccination schedules. She also talked about the risks involved in missed doses.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...

 
Guest(s) Appearing on this Episode
Laura Vanderkam
LAURA VANDERKAM, a New York City-based journalist, is the author of Grindhopping: Build a Rewarding Career without Paying Your Dues (McGraw-Hill, 2007), which the New York Post selected as one of four notable career books of 2007. She is a member of USA Today’s Board of Contributors, and her work has also appeared in the Wall Street Journal, City Journal, Scientific American, Reader’s Digest, Reason, and other publications. She specializes in translating complex economic, policy or scientific ideas into readable prose, and making people say “I never thought of it that way before.” A 2001 graduate of Princeton, she enjoys writing fiction, running, and singing soprano with the Young New Yorkers’ Chorus, an organization for which she serves as president, and which specializes in commissioning new music from composers under age 35. She lives with her husband and two young boys.

Click here to visit her website