Friday • April 19
CST 10:05 | EST 11:05 | MST 9:05 | PST 8:05 | GMT 15:05
Other Non-Flash Media Players
January 08, 2024

Stellantis Pulls Out of Auto Shows, Misleading DriveTime Ads, Genesis Brand Deep Dive
Bookmark and Share
Episode Segments:
 
Stellantis Pulls Out of Auto Shows, Misleading DriveTime Ads, Genesis Brand Deep Dive
Tom and guest co-host Brendan Appel of the Sons of Speed opened the show talking about a couple of new "The Lap" videos now posted on WeAreMotorDriven.com. The hosts then chatted briefly about the 2024 North American Car of the Year winners, which were revealed last week. Tom shared his concerns regarding misleading commercials being run by online used-car marketer DriveTime. Tom is specifically concerned about the company's assertion that users are able to negotiate the price of the vehicle they purchasing, which is not the case. Also addressed was the news that Stellantis has opted to pull out of a number of 2024 auto shows, including CES and Chicago. Brendan and Tom went on to briefly share their impressions of the Genesis GV70 Electrified compact crossover. In the second segment the hosts welcome Genesis Manger of PR and Communications Jarred Pellat to the show. Jarred talked about the emergence of Genesis as a luxury brand, its success as an alternative premium-vehicle offering, and the brand's accessibility to women. Jarred also addressed the brand's EV plans moving forward. In the final segment Brendan is subjected to Tom's horsepower quiz, which included a bonus question about Twinkies. Tom wrapped up the show with a quick review of the ride and handling balance found on his current test car, the 2024 BMW X5 M60i. Jill is spending time with her family this week, and returns next episode.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...