Sunday • June 26
CST 11:53 | EST 12:53 | MST 10:53 | PST 9:53 | GMT 04:53
Other Non-Flash Media Players
November 07, 2021

Twisted Sister & Diary of a Deputy Coroner
Bookmark and Share
Episode Segments:
 
Twisted Sister
In the first half, Richard speaks with a guitarist, founder, and manager of a world-famous heavy metal band about growing up in New York City in the sixties, working as a drug dealer and struggling as an addict before quitting cold-turkey, and finally, creating and cultivating Twisted Sister and turning it into one of the most successful brands in the world.

​ Guest: Jay Jay French founded Twisted Sister, the internationally renowned heavy metal band, nearly fifty years ago. Since then, he has catapulted his career to become one of the most successful managers, producers, and entrepreneurs in the music business. French has amassed thirty-nine gold and platinum albums as a musician, manager, producer, and executive producer, and has performed over 9,000 shows in forty countries, selling 20 million records around the world. A charter member of the Long Island Music Hall of Fame, he is considered a leading expert on vintage guitars and high-end music equipment.

​ BOOK:

Twisted Business: Lessons From My Life In Rock 'n Roll

Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...

 
 
Diary of a Deputy Coroner
In the second hour, Richard welcomes a former deputy coroner about investigating deaths, and her encounters with the spirits of the dead.

Guest: Donna Francart worked for nearly nine years as a deputy coroner conducting medico-legal death investigations, which are those involving suspicious, violent, unexplained, or unexpected deaths. Lacking access to structured debriefings, Francart turned to journaling as a way of privately unpacking the profound grief she faced and preserving her own mental well-being. As she did, she found herself in a conundrum of perplexing relationships with both the living and the dead.

With her book "I've Seen Dead People", she shares her unfiltered thoughts and emotions as she navigates a world most of us cannot imagine -- a world Francart was drawn to out of a genuine desire to help others during their darkest hours.

​ BOOK:

I've Seen Dead People

Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...