Thursday • October 28
CST 3:59 | EST 4:59 | MST 2:59 | PST 1:59 | GMT 20:59
Other Non-Flash Media Players
September 23, 2016

The Grim Wreather
Bookmark and Share
This week, Nicole will explore The Darker Side of Decorating with Artist Andy Alexander, AKA THE GRIM WREATHER. His creations are an unholy mashup of bright Christmas wreaths, dark Halloween spirit, and a trained artist's eye.

With the Halloween season approaching, Andy has started a Fall 2016 waiting list and is accepting commissions. Most of the wreaths featured at grimwreather.com are built and ready to ship. Others need to be custom made and can take up to a week to deliver. Clients are encouraged to participate in the ideation of such pieces, and may submit theme requests and budgets.
Episode Segments:
 
Up to The Minute: Andy Alexander
Its the darker side of decorating with the Grim Wreather! Andy talks about his art and his unique Halloween wreaths. Find out how you can get one of your own!
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...

 
Links to Related Websites:
The Posters.co
Some of Andy's wreaths are available for purchase at Theposters.co

The Posters makes art accessible to everyone by publishing affordable, museum-quality posters with established and emerging artists. We help support the next generation of artists by donating 10% of every sale to help fund art classes at institutions like Inner-City Arts in downtown Los Angeles.


The Grim Wreather
The Darker Side of Decorating!

With the Halloween season approaching, Andy has started a Fall 2016 waiting list and is accepting commissions. Most of the wreaths featured atgrimwreather.com are built and ready to ship. Others need to be custom made and can take up to a week to deliver. Clients are encouraged to participate in the ideation of such pieces, and may submit theme requests and budgets.


Guest(s) Appearing on this Episode
Andy Alexander
Artist Andy Alexander studied at UCLA and Art Center College of Design with luminaries such as Paul McCarthy, Cathy Opie, and Mike Kelley, and has shown in galleries and institutions for over 15 years. The Los Angeles artist's most recent project is The Grim Wreather, an unholy mashup of bright Christmas wreaths, dark Halloween spirit, and a trained artist's eye. He likes to think of them as sculptures that hang on your door.

With a deep fascination of the occult and horror, Andy first created the macabre and masterful assemblages in 2014 for like-minded friends and family. Each of the commission-based pieces required up to three weeks to make, and featured intricately detailed Halloween decorations, fabulous costume jewelry, and traditional artificial flowers. Each unique wreath tells a story and evokes reactions from the sublime to the darkly humorous. And to meet unexpected demand, he began making small runs of customer favorites.

Follow the Grim Wreather on Facebook


The Grim Wreather Website