Wednesday • October 27
CST 3:30 | EST 4:30 | MST 2:30 | PST 1:30 | GMT 20:30
Other Non-Flash Media Players
The Lone Ranger
Bookmark and Share
This week, we pay homage to one of the big screen stars of 2013 with a 1948 episode of THE LONE RANGER, with Brace Beemer in the title role. We’ll also hear Kate Smith as mistress of ceremonies on a 1942 episode of COMMAND PERFORMANCE, and ACADEMY AWARD , with Joseph Cotton and June Vincent in a radio version of the 1943 movie Shadow of a Doubt
Episode Segments:
 
Radio's Golden Age: The Lone Ranger
LONE RANGER (7-2-48) Brace Beemer stars as the Lone Ranger, with John Todd as Tonto. A woman and her invalid sister are the key to the Lone Ranger’s pursuit of a wanted criminal. Fred Foy announces. Syndicated. Read the article about The Lone Ranger in the Summer 2013 issue of Nostalgia Digest.

COMMAND PERFORMANCE #3 (3-15-42) Kate Smith is mistress of ceremonies, with Henny Youngman, Barry Wood, Ed “Archie” Gardner, Ted Husing, Robert Benchley. AFRS.
Listen to this MP3 file...

 
 
Radio's Golden Age: Academy Award

ACADEMY AWARD (9-11-46) “Shadow of a Doubt” starring Joseph Cotten and June Vincent in a radio version of the 1943 film, about a young girl who suspects that her uncle harbors a secret. House of Squibb, CBS.
Listen to this MP3 file...