Monday • March 04
CST 5:45 | EST 6:45 | MST 4:45 | PST 3:45 | GMT 11:45
Other Non-Flash Media Players
Geeking out About Action Figures
Bookmark and Share
On this episode, Geek Speak Radio Show welcomes Paul Harding. Paul is an artist who creates action figures, statues, concept art and book covers for companies like DC Comics, Gentle Giant, and Hasbro. We'll find out what goes into designing those cool toys we proudly display on our shelves. Check out his AWESOME work at his website.

We'll also talk to Kevin Stark from The Toy & Action Figure Museum, and Allen Stewart, Curator of the Hall of Heroes Super Hero Museum.

Image by Harding Studios
Episode Segments:
 
Geek Speak Radio Show HR 1: Action Figures
Artist & Sculptor Paul Harding has designed action figures for Marvel, Hasbro, DC Direct, Mezco and more. Find out how what goes into his designs, and what some of his favorite toys and inspirations are. Then, Kevin Stark from The Toy & Action Museum located in Paul's Valley, OK joins us to talk about the Museum's history and visitors can expect to find there.

Image by Harding Studios
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...

 
 
Geek Speak Radio Show HR 2: The Hall of Heroes
We’ll introduce you to Hobbyist Allen Stewart, who has a museum in Indiana dedicated to what we love on this show: comics and everything Pop Culture. The Museum is built to look like the Hall of Justice from the Super Friends Saturday Morning cartoon, and contains some pretty cool stuff. We’ll also tell you what comics will be hitting the stands tomorrow.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...

 
Links to Related Websites:
The Toy And Action Figure Museum
From concept through manufacturing, the museum has exhibits on the creation of action figures. Visitors can get a behind-the-scenes look at how toys are made. It is the goal of the museum to pay tribute to the designers, sculptors, and toy companies that have turned action figures from a child's plaything to a work of art.

The Hall Of Heroes Super Hero Museum
The Hall of Heroes Super Hero Museum is the only Comic and Super Hero Museum in the world. The Museum covers the entire 70 history of Super Heroes in comics, film, animations, and toys. The Museum is housed in a 2 story replica of the Hall of Justice

Guest(s) Appearing on this Episode
Paul Harding
Since 2001, Paul Harding has been running a full-service Sculpture and Illustration creative shop focusing on action figures, statues and book covers. He incorporates many kinds of media including traditional techniques and newer digital tools for both sculpting and illustration. Current clients include Hasbro, DC Direct, Marvel Toys and Little Brown Publishing.

Read Paul’s Blog.


Check out his website.