Friday • June 09
CST 7:30 | EST 8:30 | MST 6:30 | PST 5:30 | GMT 12:30
Other Non-Flash Media Players
November 15, 2014

Lawsuits and the Emergency Room
Bookmark and Share
If you or a loved one are rushed to the hospital for emergency treatment, probably the last thing on your mind is a lawsuit. But you can bet thatís what the ER docs are thinking about. Then, race is a part of everyday life. But where does America stand in the nation conversation on race, and where is it going?
Episode Segments:
 
InfoTrak: Lawsuit Fear in the ER

Many Emergency Room doctors say the fear of malpractice lawsuits results in extra blood tests and imaging scans that are not necessary. Dr. Angela Gardner, President of the American College of Emergency Physicians talked about this trend and why ER physicians are such an inviting target for legal action. She also offered suggestions on how to improve the situation.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...

 
 
InfoTrak: Playing the Race Card

How do Americans know whether a remark or incident is racially biased? John Hartigan, Jr., PhD, author of What Can You Say?: America's National Conversation on Race discussed the state of race relations in America and the mediaís role in it. He discussed ways that the first black President has affected attitudes regarding race relations.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...

 
 
InfoTrak: Making School Buses Safer

Although automobile safety technology has improved dramatically in the past two decades, school bus designs have changed very little. Dr. Alan L. Ross, President of the National Coalition for School Bus Safety explained the reasons behind this lack of progress. He believes seat belts should be mandated in all school buses. He talked about the expenses involved to retrofit the nationís school bus fleet.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...