Sunday • June 23
CST 6:59 | EST 7:59 | MST 5:59 | PST 4:59 | GMT 23:59
Other Non-Flash Media Players
April 06, 2015

Happy Money
Bookmark and Share
Is there a scientific formula behind smarter spending? We’ll talk to an expert to get her secret recipe for buying happiness. Then, it’s a startling statistic, and a grim one; The suicide rate among middle aged whites has increased dramatically. But what’s behind the numbers?
Episode Segments:
 
InfoTrak: Happy Money

1. Elizabeth Dunn, PhD, is co-author of “Happy Money: The Science of Smarter Spending” Dr. Dunn’s research found that people can significantly improve their happiness if they change the way they spend money. She said material things like luxurious homes or new gadgets provide much less happiness than experiential purchases like trips or concerts. She said spending money on other people provides a bigger happiness boost than almost any other expenditure.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...

 
 
InfoTrak: Suicide and Middle Age

Suicides among middle-aged Americans have increased dramatically in the past decade. Eric Caine, MD, co-director of the Center for the Study of Prevention of Suicide at the University of Rochester Medical Center said the rate among white men and women in that age group jumped 40 percent, while it was essentially unchanged for most other racial groups. He said the recession and mortgage crisis may be an important factor in the increase. He added that Baby Boomers seem to have higher levels of depression than other demographic groups. He talked about potential warning signs for those at risk of suicide.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...

 
 
InfoTrak: Designated Drivers - do they work?

Adam Barry, PhD, Assistant Professor of Health Education, University of Florida, conducted a study that found that two in five designated drivers had been drinking before getting behind the wheel and that 18% had blood-alcohol levels high enough to impair their driving skills. He outlined the potential reasons that designated driver education campaigns have been less than successful.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...