Tuesday • February 27
CST 6:31 | EST 7:31 | MST 5:31 | PST 4:31 | GMT 12:31
Other Non-Flash Media Players
April 13, 2019

Being Prepared if Terror Strikes
Bookmark and Share
With stories about terrorism in the news, its natural to wonder how you would respond to an attack close to home. We’ll hear from a domestic counter terrorism expert. Then, an inspirational story of redemption from a former prison inmate who turned his life around and now mentors young people.
Episode Segments:
 
Being Prepared if Terror Strikes
Robert Sholly is a domestic counterterrorism expert, retired army colonel who is experienced in both counter-terrorism and performing international security assessments, a member of the United Nations international peace keeping forces that won the Nobel Peace Prize in 1988. Col. Sholly said while we cannot live in fear, it is wise to live with caution and prudence. He discussed which public places are the most dangerous. He explained why it is important to have a security plan before entering a mall, what to do if shots are fired in a crowded movie theater and the physical signs to watch for that could identify a potential shooter or bomber.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...

 
 
Writing My Wrongs
Shaka Senghor is author of “Writing My Wrongs: Life, Death, and Redemption in an American Prison. In 1991, Shaka Senghor was sent to prison for second-degree murder. Today, he lectures at many universities and is a leading voice on criminal justice reform. He shared his inspirational story: growing up with an abusive parent, which started a downward spiral that saw him run away from home, turn to drug dealing to survive, and end up in prison for murder at the age of 19, fuming with anger and despair. He explained what caused him to turn his life around, now mentoring youth at risk.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...

 
 
Teens, Driving and Cerfews
Monica Deza, PhD, Assistant Professor of Economics in the School of Economic, Political and Policy Science at the University of Texas, Dallas led a study that found that teen driving curfews might do more than reduce car accidents. They also may prevent teens from committing crimes or becoming pregnant. She talked about the most common crimes committed by teens and why driving restrictions may make a difference.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...