Tuesday • February 27
CST 7:30 | EST 8:30 | MST 6:30 | PST 5:30 | GMT 13:30
Other Non-Flash Media Players
A Conversation with Scholar-Athletes
Bookmark and Share
On this week's episode, Dr. Jefferson will introduce you to four special teens, who not only excel in the classroom, but also on the athletic field; Carina Escobar, Salutatorian, Soccer & Softball student-athlete, and accepted to New York University (NYU) where she will study International Business, Albert Rivas, graduating 8th in his class of 500, Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year, Lacrosse student-athlete, and accepted to Rochester Institute of Technology where he will study Chemical Engineering, Veronica Harris, graduating 3rd in her class, Volleyball & Cheer-leading student-athlete, and accepted to St. John's University where she will be studying Communication Arts with a minor in Legal Studies, and Jonathan Guevara, Graduating 11th in his class of 500, Baseball student-athlete, and accepted to Hofstra University where he will be studying Pre-Med.
Episode Segments:
 
Educviii: Carina Escobar & Albert Rivas

Both Carina and Albert have managed to balance their athletic pursuits with their academic success. Carina is a multi-sport athlete, as well as the class salutatorian, while Albert is the scholar athlete of the year, and finished in the top 2% of his class. Learn how they were able to accomplish this.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...

 
 
Educviii: Veronica Harris & Jonathan Guevarra

In part two, we meet Jonathan and Veronica, who are also successful student athletes. Veronica plays volleyball and is a cheerleader, while Jonathan plays baseball. Both are also headed to college.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...