Monday • March 04
CST 5:35 | EST 6:35 | MST 4:35 | PST 3:35 | GMT 11:35
Other Non-Flash Media Players
Catching the Crown and Everything Else!
Bookmark and Share
As a journalist, actress, author, former teacher, and Emmy Award winner, Lu Parker, Miss USA 1994 , is without question one of pageantrys most successful titleholders. Join Valerie as Lu talks about her multi-faceted career as well as her fabulous book, Catching the Crown: The Source for Pageant Competition . Lu will share her advice on what is takes to be successful in todays pageant world and how to leverage your pageant experience for success in other arenas. Make sure you tune in for this uplifting and information episode!
Episode Segments:
 
Lu Parker Part One
Lu tells Valerie about how she went from Tomboy to all the way to Miss USA. She also talks about her approach to pageant prep, her Miss USA experience, and how her pageant skills have helped her in her career.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...

 
 
Lu Parker Part Two
Lu talks about some of the changes that have taken place in the Miss USA Pageant since she competed in it, and some of the differences in her preparation for the Miss Universe Pageant. She also talks about what inspired her to write her book, what she looks for in contestants when she judges pageants, and gives her top three tips for any pageant contestant.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...

 
 
Ask Valerie!
In this edition of the Q & A, Valerie shares places you can go to get the word out about your pageant, how to handle interview questions about your significant other, and appropriate clothing colors for interview during a teen pageant. Plus Valerie will tell you why taking a break during your pageant prep can actually be a good thing.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...

 
Guest(s) Appearing on this Episode
Lu Parker
Lu Parker is a multi-faceted talent. She is a journalist, actress, author, former Miss USA, and a former teacher. As an Emmy Award winning journalist, you can find her anchoring and reporting the news in Los Angeles, California on KTLA. She has co-hosted national shows, and has interviewed such names as Kanye West, Matt Damon, Eva Longoria, Arnold Schwarzenegger, Oscar De La Hoya, and Bill Cosby. In November 2008, Lu reported live from the Democratic Headquarters in Los Angeles as Barack Obama was elected. Prior to arriving in Los Angeles, Lu earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in English from the College of Charleston, and a Master of Arts Degree in Education from The Citadel. While teaching high school English, she entered and won both Miss South Carolina USA, and Miss USA in 1994. In the Miss Universe Pageant that year, she placed 4th among 81 contestants from around the world. Her pageant expertise afforded her the opportunity to write Catching the Crown: The Source for Pageant Competition. As an actress, Lu appears on the big screen, and on several popular television shows, including Bones, Monk, and Shark. She recently appeared in the film An American Carol, a comedy directed by David Zucker. You can find her next in the soon to be released film Winged Creatures starring Dakota Fanning. In her free time, Lu is an advocate for homeless animals, and serves on the Board of Trustees at Saint Francis Hospital in Los Angeles. She is an avid golfer, hiker, and loves to shoot a shotgun. She participates in dozens of charity events annually raising money for children, animals, and the needy. Lu lives in Los Angeles with her cat and dog.

Click here to visit her website