Wednesday • June 07
CST 4:39 | EST 5:39 | MST 3:39 | PST 2:39 | GMT 09:39
Other Non-Flash Media Players
Children International
Bookmark and Share
This week, we discuss Children International: Educating Girls Living in Poverty with guests Kathy Phelps and Natalie Foxworthy.

For more than 75 years, Children International has been providing critical assistance to children and families struggling in terrible poverty. Our centrally located community centers, from which our dedicated in-country staffs operate, provide resources, programs and services that allow us to reduce the burden of poverty on impoverished children and youth, invest in their potential and provide them with opportunities to grow up healthy, educated and prepared to succeed and contribute to society.


Episode Segments:
 
Children International: Kathy Phelps
Kathy Phelps is the Director of Programs for Children International, supporting CIís health, education and youth development programs in Africa, Asia, Latin America and the United States. Prior to working with CI, she worked as an advocate for adolescent reproductive health issues in Washington, DC, and she provided technical support for food security programs for people living with HIV/AIDS in Uganda. She received her Masterís in Public Health from George Washington University and a Bachelor of Science Degree from the University of Miami.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...

 
 
Children International: Natalie Foxworthy
Natalie Foxworthy is the Program Officer for Education and Youth Development at Children International. She earned a Masters of International Development and Nonprofit Management at the University of California, San Diego and has focused this degree specifically on youth development. She served as a Peace Corps volunteer in El Salvador where she worked closely with the local youth group and the community development organization to implement a variety of community projects. In her experience working with Children International, the Foundation for the Development of Women and Children (FUNDEMUN), Peace Corps and the Baja Project she has provided technical support in the areas of youth development, education, evaluation and community development in Latin America, Africa and Asia.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...

 
Links to Related Websites:
Children International

Our mission is to bring real and lasting change to children living in poverty. In partnership with contributors, we reduce their daily struggles, invest in their potential, and provide them with the opportunity to grow up healthy, educated and prepared to succeed and contribute to society.


Children International On Facebook

Children International (CI) is a child focused humanitarian organization fighting poverty around the world.