Tuesday • February 27
CST 3:45 | EST 4:45 | MST 2:45 | PST 1:45 | GMT 09:45
Other Non-Flash Media Players
Directing Your Fabulous Pageant!
Bookmark and Share
Directors everywhere want to make certain that their pageant is as fabulous as the contestants who compete in them. But it’s often difficult for directors to find helpful information about best practices in the pageant industry. Join Valerie as she talks with Shelly Winters Black, creator of The Complete Pageant Director’s Kit, about what it takes to start and grow a pageant. If you’re a new director who is just starting out or an experienced director who wants to continue developing your pageant then this episode is for you. You’ll learn all the insider secrets to making sure your next competition is pageant fab!
Episode Segments:
 
Pageant Director Shelly Winters Black
Shelly talks about her start in pageantry, and how it led her to become a pageant director. She also explains what it takes to be a great director, and shares some advice from her experience on staffing, promotion, and even naming a pageant.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...

 
 
Shelly Winters Black Part Two
Shelly has more advice for aspiring pageant directors, including tips on location, and actually turning a profit on the pageant. Plus, some common mistakes that directors make that you need to avoid.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...

 
 
Ask Valerie!
So are you bamboo, or just not crown worthy? In this week’s Q & A, Valerie explains why it takes some contestants longer to blossom than others, even with coaching.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...

 
Guest(s) Appearing on this Episode
Shelly Winters Black
Eighteen year Pageant Veteran, former contestant, title holder such as Mrs. Jefferson Parish, Mrs. Gretna, Mrs. Kenner & Mrs. Orleans Parish. Pageant coach for the past 15 years. Hair stylist and \Makeup artist. I have taken all my pageant knowledge and put together a Complete Director's Kit, guided to assist new pageant directors in directing successful pageants on their first try.

Click here to visit her website